To bide my time in this little house, I have been obsessing about creating the perfect look in my new dream home. Right now, my favorite look is distressed, vintage, primitive. I am hoping to create the coziest, lived in look to make our new home comfortable. I’ve been borrowing ideas from Pinterest and various other blogs, like Down to Earth style, which I LOVE!!!

My first big project was a vintage dresser that I picked up for free on Craigslist.  I loved it because it had cabinet doors instead of drawers and it was in really good shape.  I really wanted to do something with it to make it stand out but after my black dresser redo didn’t really turn out, I wasn’t sure I wanted to paint it.  I decided to stain it a dark walnut, but first I had to sand down layers and layers of varnish.  NOT FUN!

20121016_095646 (1)

After several weeks of sanding, the staining was the easy part.  I added new hardware that I got at the local hardware store for about $10 total and I’m really happy with the results.  I think I want to stencil a gold emblem on the top but I haven’t decided yet.

Finished:

100_9790

I really like how the different woods stained different shades.  I think it adds character.

